Skip to content ↓

Early Years Foundation Stage

A Summary of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 

There are 7 areas of learning and development which are divided into 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas. 

The EYFS framework has three prime areas: 

  • Communication and Language 
  • Physical Development 
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development 

 There are four specific areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are: 

  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the World 
  • Expressive Arts and Design 
Characteristics of Effective Learning 

The characteristics of effective learning run through and underpin all seven areas of learning and development, representing processes rather than outcomes. The Characteristics of effective learning are: 

  • Playing and exploring – engagement 
  • Active learning- motivation 
  • Creating and thinking critically- thinking 

You can find out more information about the EYFS using this link Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage for group and school providers (